Transitioning from armchair hunter to actual hunter?

Dutch

Dec 25, 2020

Hi All,
Merry Christmas! First post here after lurking for awhile and educating myself, it got deleted the first time around so trying again. Like many newbies, I've gotten my hunting license, read, read and read some more about hunting, watch hunting shows, etc. but need to purchase a firearm and start actually hunting! I've been on the sidelines for 2 years thinking about this, 2021 is the time to make it happen. I live in San Diego County, grew up in Michigan but the most "hunting" I did back then was shooting nuisance red squirrels on our property with a 12 gauge. I'm curious what folks think about a place like My Country Club in San Diego for an absolute beginner hunter? It seems like it'd be an easier path for someone like me to pick up a rifle and a shotgun, get lots of varmint shooting and just shooting in general under my belt out there, and work my way in more toward other game from that point? I know ilovesprig (Steve) seems very knowledgeable about My Country Club so I was going to PM him as well unless he cares to chime in here. Any current MCC members know the status of the place? I'm guessing they are busier than ever with lockdowns pushing more and more folks into the outdoors.