Is this a Bufflehead? By awful score so far..

benCa

Nov 15, 2021
I'm a newb here, and to hunting, many of you guys have been shamefully helpful, and I do appreciate it.

I've been duck hunting 4 times in my life, got 1 duck last year, a female teal and she was really small (at Henshaw) and some mystery duck which I think is a young Bufflehead (see pic below, and am I right?)

I went to Wister 3 weeks ago or so. I learned a lot, which I stress, because I left with mostly mosquito bugs and some sleep deprivation. But a friend (which I made for that trip) has a place in Arizona and an awesome bass boat. Hunting on a river was something else. Comparing it to Wister, by scenery, comfort, and a lack of bugs would be like comparing a Motal 6 toThe Four Seasons. The only problem is that ducks don't seem to be in the same population density as Wister - or perhaps just generally more spread out. Who knows, I'm not there yet, I'm just happy to, finally get 1 duck. This 1 duck likely cost about 1500 bucks.

Aside from helping my confirm this is a Buffle, if you have any advice for pitching a duck boat to a wife, let me know! Need a good way to spin thatCC34EC04-A799-401A-9EBF-E1E6048ADD9C_1_201_a.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
I shot it and then had to strangle it when it came back to life.

going to eat it of course.. but out of the 3-4 waterfowl cookbooks I have.. there is zero mention of bufflehead. Nothing to do with strangling the poor thing, everything to do with this bourbon and these books.

Buffy....... Hot skillet, some butter, 1min 30 seconds each side hit it with some Garlicsalt.

You want it rare.

Reactions: benCa
Tenderize, dip in egg, dip in italian breadcrumbs, throw in the pan, and you’ve got one of the tastiest meals out there, no matter what others say! A limit of buffles would be a great day for me! Fast fliers and able to soak up the steel as you saw.