12x?

SurfNHuntSD

Oct 1, 2013
San Diego
www.sandiegoturkey.com
Thinking of upgrading my glass and was wondering how useful a pair of 12x are as my main chest binos instead of 10x42? I have no experience with 12x off hand... Just wondering if I'm wasting my time considering something too heavy/shaky for chest carry?

Hiking stick, shooting sticks even tightening your bino harness can stabilize your binos.
Just got my new nimrod harness and it stabilized my binos......my old one was all stretched out.
I run 10's on my neck & 12-15 from the truck, might ditch the 15 for 18

Reactions: SurfNHuntSD
I don’t think going to a 12 is going to make you start finding animals you weren’t finding with your 10’s. If you feel like you need more magnification to help you find animals I would add a 15x to your kit. In an effort to save weight some guys are going with just a 12 instead of a 10 and 15. Many say it’s a good compromise between magnification and ability to hand hold. I would say if you don’t want to carry two sets of binos go with the 12’s. But if your primary goal is finding more game and you don’t mind a little extra weight... get some 15’s. The 15’s are responsible for a lot of dead animals.

In an effort to save weight some guys are going with just a 12 instead of a 10 and 15. Many say it’s a good compromise between magnification and ability to hand hold.
This is what my thinking was basically. Right now I only have my 10x42 and a spotter but need to upgrade my 10x since they are getting old and beat up.. and since I don't have the cash to invest in 15x right now I was thinking of trying to meet in the middle with a 12x set to carry on my chest.