223/556 at15

G

Goyaałé

Bare with me. i am new to all of it. so my question is what can i hunt with my ar 15 & what is my effective range?

Welcome to the site, here is the blunt answer.

The ar15 shoots what is effectively a varmint round. So in the hands of a newbie hunter I would say coyotes, ground squirrels, rabbits, and the like. In the hands of a experienced hunter it can take deer size game with out trouble but you are a few years away from that.

Effective range?
Depends on the gun and the shooter. Some ar15's are as accurate as a good bolt gun. Some are not. If you have a typical home defense AR and given that you are new I would say 100 yards. Go shoot and when you can keep every shot in a 6" circle that's a good start to what range you can shoot. As far as knock down power on coyote size game a good load can kill a coyote at 400 yards no problem but trust me when I say energy at longer ranges is not worth worrying about. Work on clean kills at 100 yards. The rest will follow

Reactions: xjon and Goyaałé
Thank you sir @Aeon . i want to go out to the mountains and practice some shooting. just dont know wher i can target shoot without getting into trouble.

@Gspman i live in san diego. i was trying to find maps online but i dont knwo waht im looking for. jajajja a friend said east of otay lakes' and out past the border patrol check point. i just want to be sure.

BLM land is legal for the most part, excluding specific areas closed to target shooting (which should be listed on the BLM site or call the field office). However, National Forest land in SD is mostly illegal for target shooting (but legal for hunting). Wherever you end up, just remember to pack out whatever you bring in (targets, casings, etc.). I hate seeing spots ruined by piles of empties, broken clays, and bullet-riddled appliances.

Reactions: Goyaałé