Almost shot a coyote while deer hunting, D16

BoyScout

Oct 14, 2022
Really long post
SHort story: I saw a mountain lion, 1 coyote (I almost shot), 0 deer

This is my first year hunting in 6 years I think. I use to do a bunch of predator hunting out near palomar mountain and alpine. Man I had some fun nights calling in yotes and bobcats. Anyways also use to hunt D6 for deer but never could quite close the distance. I did buy a D16 tag once and didnt do any scouting before the season and maybe hunted twice haha where I saw a mountain lion the first time I ever deer hunted. I thought man, this D16 stuff aint worth my time im just gonna predator hunt and go up to the sierras. Something gave me the itch this year to get back into deer hunting when a friend of mine texted me saying I should buy a D16 tag so I did, I decided I wanted to put in an honest effort this year since I have been missing hunting for so long. I was stoked to find out about OnX maps, like what a cool app right? I remember having to use maps or some shitty app so we usually just went with the map. I feel old writing this but I'm only 29 years old ha.