Arizona Coues left over tags?

KoozeDeer

Jul 18, 2016
hello all. this year in AZ i drew my second pick, 36A and got a nice Coues. My question is this. from what i have been told, if you select a second option and draw the tag you receive no points. Well i would like to start accumulation points for some better hunts in AZ. I was told you can pick up rifle tags for some of the 36 units. Often there are less hunters than available tags? anyone know the process or dates.

I am no expert, I also hunted Coues for my first time a few weeks ago and shot a nice buck. My understanding is if you draw any of your choices you get no points. I think you basically have to apply for impossible tags like strip tags, which you won't draw, and then once the drawings are over, whatever is leftover will become available. I am not sure if there is an online database of what is available like we have here in CA.

Yea that's my understanding. But if we can get those Coues tags with fair consistency and still accumulate points for a premium unit would be awsome. Just looking for anyone with experience or knowledge as I can't find much in the AZ book

Yea that's my understanding. But if we can get those Coues tags with fair consistency and still accumulate points for a premium unit would be awsome. Just looking for anyone with experience or knowledge as I can't find much in the AZ book

You can definitely get them with fair consistency. Many units are under-subscribed. It won't be guaranteed but there are lots of tags you can get every year. So are you trying to figure out where that data is published? The draw success that is posted in the AZ book will tell you just about all you need to know. But I think I did see something when I was doing research when I was applying that had like the last 5 years of draw data in it. You'd have to do some googling.