D15 ??

schulte336

Aug 10, 2013
Hello all, Ive noticed that no one ever seems to talk about d15 hunts....... I will probably go out near vail lake fairly close to where a buddy of mine took one , I'm new to deer hunting and won't have time to go far so I figured I would try it. Just curious if anyone else has had any success out here....

For a long time, I had permission to hunt the property around Vail Lake......Some real quality bucks around it. I'm sure you know now that area is all private property. Across Hwy 79 there is NF (Dripping Springs), but I'm sure you're probably aware that area is D-16.

It's been a long time, but I used to see deer near the Upper San Juan Campground off of Hwy 74 while pigeon hunting...Lots of NF up there....The other area was Indian Truck Tr. But, I've heard that it is now closed off with a gate.

Thanks for the info

For the most part , vail lake is mostly private lands but from what I saw on google earth there is a fairly big chunk of blm land maybe a 1 or 2 miles north of it. I'll probably go check it out sometimes during the week and hopefully it isn't gated

I used to go hunting around Indian truck trail too but the owner of the land I hunted died and the new owner doesn't want hunters :(

Yeah, I see those pieces of BLM.......We used to call the mountain on the north side of Vail, Mt. Diablo.......Probably a good place to check out. If the roads are anything like they used to be up there. Make sure your truck is prepared for a rough ride.

ilovesprig said:
Yeah, I see those pieces of BLM.......We used to call the mountain on the north side of Vail, Mt. Diablo.......Probably a good place to check out. If the roads are anything like they used to be up there. Make sure your truck is prepared for a rough ride.

Yeah im sure, especially with that hard rain we had out this way a few weeks ago