deer hunting scent control ?

steveo007

Nov 24, 2011
chula vista
newbie deer hunter i'm guessing a deer can smell you before they see you,how important is scent control clothing,should you have scent control base layers,and scent control camo gear,
or just use some of that spray scent control and body wash,and deodorant if so what brands do you guys prefer ?

Well I'm no expert, but here is a summary of what I've read and learned in the field, for what it's worth. I think it only matters if you need to bring them in close, like archery hunting out here or white tail stand hunting back East. At longer ranges I doubt it matters at all. I watched a ton of deer walk right around me last year while bow hunting, and if the breeze was steady, they never knew I was there till they were directly downwind of me (within 10 deg either way). When the wind was shifty, they were skittish no matter what I did for scent control. Aside from commercial items you mention, what you eat before you hunt has a big effect so good to keep in mind: onions and garlic last more than a day, and coffee leaves a strong scent, if you are willing to even consider giving that up before your hunt (I'm not). I use unscented soap and shampoo before I go out, make sure I store my hunting clothes and fabric gear (packs, caps, gloves etc) in a well ventillated area so it doesn't pick up chemical, gasoline or oil smells such as from my garage or tool shed, and I spray scent suppressor on my boots and clothing as I approach a stand or between me and a decoy. I (my dear wife) also washes my clothing in unscented detergent. If you find any cow pies as you enter your hunting area, that's one of the more effective (and cheap) scent control agents. You step in it; do not apply to clothing...;)
One other thing: if you buy scent control gear, be careful how you wash it. Some scent suppressing clothing can be de-activated by regular detergent.

Stevo,