Entry Level PCP

AverageDude

Oct 29, 2021
I've been using a Gamo Magnum for a couple years and am thinking of making the move to a PCP. It's kind of a beast to haul around, so I'm looking to get a smaller PCP in .22 or .25 that is easier to carry around (ideally with a proper sling). Mostly to be used for cottontails and possibly jacks. I'm curious what folks with more experience think of my choices:
I'd like to:
Stay under 6lbs
Stay under $250
Not ungainly length

The ones I've sort of narrowed it down to are:
Diana Stormrider
Gamo Arrow
Hatsan Flash QE (the .25 is on pyramyd for $250)

Reactions: ilovesprig
I got the Umarex Gauntlet 1...The new gauntlet 2 is about $499.99....I've been real happy so far (2 seasons)...Just make sure you get a good air compressor.......... :blush:

Rabbit opener 2021 3.JPG

Was at Rainbow Shooting Range yesterday. Guy was shooting what looked like a centerfire rifle with a nice scope. Each shot sounded like a mouse fart, no louder. I could barely hear it even without my ear protection on. He showed me his setup. Was a PCP with a nice scope. What made it interesting was that he had a suppressor. Said it was still legal but would not be for long. Was a really nice .25. He was shooting 1" groups at 75 yards. I checked the regs and apparently suppressors are only banned from firearms and a pellet rifle is [at this time] not a firearm. Suppressors appear to be legal and the non-lead requirement does not apply. This would be a great tool for hunting bunnies in areas close to residential areas. Very, very impressive.

Looked further into the law and it appears that there is proposed legislation to make any air/spring/CO2 gun above 22 caliber a firearm. Not sure where that legislation stands at this point.

Reactions: GUNDOGLOVER49
Dr,

Most come with built in suppressors these days....They are quiet....................... ;)