First hunt

Creaturekeeper

Oct 11, 2018
I'm applying for my first deer tag this year, Zone D-12 any advice for hunting the area? I've never gone deer hunting been doing my fair share of research and prep for a year now I feel ready for this coming season. I'm new to hunting pretty much self taught from reading and watching videos. So any good advice is appreciated.

Reactions: longbowhunter2
Get good binoculars on a tripod they are more important than the gun, find water, get to you glassing knob before sunrise, stay until after dark, and spend a lot of time in the field.
Killing is the easy part finding them is the hard part.
One more thing the main reason I am successful is not skill it’s that I am stubborn. If you spend more time in the field, if you don’t quit, if you go further than everyone else and if you are able to block out discomfort and misery you will be successful. When You Hunt never quit no matter how discouraged you are and that will lead to meat on the ground. A little luck never hurts either.

Last edited:
Get good binoculars on a tripod they are more important than the gun, find water, get to you glassing knob before sunrise, stay until after dark, and spend a lot of time in the field.
Thank you. Will definitely do that, I have not got any binoculars yet still searching for affordable quality.

Check out craigslist for gear, hunting equipment is kinda like exercise equipment, a certain few use it all the time but a majority use it once and there it sits. Time in the field is free just get out there.

The zone is huge, which part of it are you going to look in? I have some cams out there and have some info I can DM you depending on where in the zone your wanting to go.

Here is their California range map.

Attachments

• M181.pdf
    103.1 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:
Trapline thanks much appreciated. I be based out of the Winterhaven area so I guess the southern end of the zone. Ill be going out May 11 to start getting a feel for the area.