First post. Need help hunting coyotes!!!

bOnEsMaStA

Jun 27, 2013
San Diego
This is my first post on SCH and im excited to be on here. Im 26, and im a native san diegan. I used to be bloodydecks.com but that site has alot of big headed ego types. Im a licensed 100 ton captain and i work on a sport fishing so i love the outdoors. Enough with the "story of my life" lol.

So i shoot alot of trap and skeet and decided to get my hunters safety and license. I really want to gun down a coyote. Im using a shotgun, 12 gauge with full choke and 00 buck. I bought a primos double jackrabbit distress caller and a decoy. Ive been out 4 times now during the day and once at night with no luck. Not even seen one. Ive watched you tube vids on how to call and feel im doing it right but no luck.

Ive been hunting in delzura off the old 94. Any pointers? Maybe different spots! Please help. Thanks....

First of all welcome to the site....I am no expert, but just because you did not see one does not mean they are not there. You should remain very still and quiet and be aware of the wind direction. Yotes will circle down wind of the prey before moving in and may be winding you. An electronic call placed away from you helps with this issue. I am sure others will chime in here and there is a post below on making your own electronic call.

Keep at it, every day in the field is better than sitting on the sofa...wait, that's what I am doing now!

Welcome to the site, I think you will find an environment here which you will enjoy.

First thing you are doing right is getting out. The more you get out the better your chance will come to get one. I would recommend switching to #4 buck. This is one of the more frequent used shots for coyote. Not that 00 won't work it will, but #4 is what us varmint guys seem to like. Her is a video of my friend doing a talk about it. It is good also for new coyote hunters. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=eLV0wVJ1-WY