Getting started with points

Zak

Mar 30, 2019
Well as a busy grad student I figure I may as well take advantage of time and get into the points game in several states with my sights set on awesome hunts when life gets better. I'm considering the $149/yr for Gohunt.com if it's a worthy investment.

The amount of info out there is overwhelming, anything to know before starting this endeavor?

I've been in the points game for almost 30 years... 7 to 9 states a year. It's a convoluted mess. Things are constantly changing... regulations, point systems, point creep, animal populations... I used to subscribe to Hunting Fool but now get my info off the internet. My short term goal is to get rid of my points in a few states and get out of it. Smart for you to get a head start. Ed F

I apply in 7 states every year and this year I am applying in 8. Go hunt is a great tool and it has helped me to draw tags no question.

• Wow
Reactions: Zak
As with anything there are pros and cons of the points game. My recommendation to you is to not sit on points for years and years and years. Go hunting. If you have a few years while you’re in grad school that you know you can’t hunt, it obviously makes sense to accumulate points while you’re doing that. If you apply to a few states that you can draw a tag with one or two points (Colorado and Utah for example) you can alternate hunting them every year. If you want to choose one or two states to wait for a really premium tag that’s great too, but you should have realistic expectations. For example, starting to build points now, you are NEVER going to catch up with the maximum points pool in any state. So don’t expect to one day draw an AZ strip tag with points. Gohunt is a great tool to figure out what and when you can draw but keep in mind that point creep is always changing draw odds in any desirable unit.