Lee RGB (really good buy)dies --lesson learned

mangycoyote

Feb 7, 2013
I want to start off by saying I'm not a reloading expert. I wanted to share my experience with these dies.
The dies cost me 20 bucks. The FS die worked well and im still going to use it unil I have enough to replace it. The real issue I had was with the bullet seating die.
I am loading Barnes 72 gr hp. Inside the die there is a fine step that would catch the very top of the bullet. It would two things, it would deform the bullet and If I forced it it would bend the neck. It would take me longer to seat the bullet than to measure powder.
A non HP bullet might make a deference. Lee addresses this issue on their website it can be fixed for 10 bucks. That's not going to happen on 20 dollar dies.
I'm not what others have experienced with this die set. But for me I'd pass next time and buy better dies.
good dies are worth their weight in gold but don't have to cost a fortune. Good used dies are always an option. But again trying to save money buy used may end up costing more too.
I've found a forster benchrest bullet seating die. I paid 50 for that die and a RCBS neck sizer die.
Benchrest die is well worth the money. The cool thing about forster is that it guides the case all the wa up.
!

Attachments

• IMAG0631.jpg
    IMAG0631.jpg
    574.7 KB · Views: 18
  • IMAG0598.jpg
    IMAG0598.jpg
    370.5 KB · Views: 12
  • IMAG0609.jpg
    IMAG0609.jpg
    273.6 KB · Views: 13
  • IMAG0606.jpg
    IMAG0606.jpg
    448.6 KB · Views: 14
  • IMAG0609.jpg
    IMAG0609.jpg
    273.6 KB · Views: 14
  • IMAG0613.jpg
    IMAG0613.jpg
    518 KB · Views: 14
  • IMAG0600.jpg
    IMAG0600.jpg
    260.7 KB · Views: 13
  • IMAG0601.jpg
    IMAG0601.jpg
    307.9 KB · Views: 14
  • IMAG0599.jpg
    IMAG0599.jpg
    476.6 KB · Views: 14