Muley Herd Health

BamaDJ

Feb 19, 2014
Chula Vista
It's my first year hunting SoCal and I am concerned about the numbers I am seeing in regards to ratio. So far, I have only seen about 28% of the does have fawns with them. Is anyone else seeing similar numbers, or hopefully better numbers? I know it's really dry out there!

On another note, I have seen two distinctly different sizes of fawns. With the mild year we had, was there an early and late rut last year? If so, is this normal in SoCal?

I'm trying to learn Mule Deer and SoCal. Any and all input is greatly appreciated.

It's dry all lions have to do is sit on water and there will be slow tender lil deer stopping by for dinner

I saw a ton of does this spring turkey season and only saw one that was clearly heavy enough in the belly to be preggo. I'm no biologist though and I don't know how to get em to pee on a test strip to make sure.

I have 5-7 resident does that my spot holds year around, and none of them have fawns, I'm not sure if it's dew to predation or just lack of water but they were getting nailed in the rut, that's for sure.... Glad I didn't release that arrow last year, I'd be one less doe in my area

Same here. I've seen a couple that were tiny. That's why I was asking about the second rut. Either that or they've adopted some cous deer fawns! Couldn't have been but maybe 15 lbs.

There aren't deer here like other places. I've found numbers will vary certain years.
IMO Deer here get most of their water from the stuff they eat. Any water here is usually posted or has 100 stands or ground blinds on it.
Watch the dew point, humidity, cloud cover fog and temps. Not just temp and wind. I use to track that stuff. Learned from it too. Seeing a deer shake off water when there is no rain or standing water around is cool.

Going to take a look around this weekend. Haven't been out in months. :-[