My tour of Long Beach.

xjixta

Nov 10, 2014
Pacoima, CA
Well guys, I have to start by saying I'm no expert fishermen. I barely know a few knots, I can attach a leader and have very little experience fishing with live bait. Anyways we went out on an overnight trip 7/24-7/25 out of H&M Landing in San Diego. The landing was recommended to me by my boss who lives in the area and is successful scoring bluefins and yellowtail so we drove out from the San Fernando Valley

So we started off leaving the dock around 10 pm. Once we got moving set my line up, threw on a 50# leader of fluorocarbon and a 2/0 hook. We went to sleep expecting to wake up in Mexican waters, but nope. Woke up just south of Dana Point at 5 am and continuing north. Our captain decided to try those waters out there since the day before all the boats out in that area were very successful. I have to say I was pretty disappointed as I probably had my line in the water for a total of 15 minutes and our whole boat saw 0 fish. Also a good amount of the bait died in the tanks.

Now my question to this long winded story / rant is do you normally only leave a line in for a minute or two and then take off elsewhere? From my experience you leave the line in and let the live bait swim and wait for a few minutes before giving up hope. Does that sound about right? Never been so disappointed from a trip. I'm fine with not catching a fish as its happened before, but when the entire boat sees no action I kind of blame the captain. What do you guys think?

Here are some pictures I took out of boredom.

59c69e9d26fcb7bf461f28cd64cfd975.jpg
40557976b123a135c4a9378529a06f57.jpg
bf876fd1e07674401fef8a1cc6234230.jpg

My tour of Long Beach.