New Bowstrings for noob

ToddTheMan

Sep 20, 2016
Hey guys I'm glad to join the forum and I can't wait to post all over here! I have a question though. I just got my bow out and the strings are frayed. Does anyone know where to get replacement strings for athens accomplice 32? I have only had this bow for a few years and I havent had it restrung yet. I was thinking about going to a local guy but some of my friends suggested going online because those companies are WAY better. What do you think?

I agree with Lee. Unless you are very experienced I would not try to restring a compound bow without professional help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: ToddTheMan
Im new to archery myself and I am so glad I did not order a bow online. Out of the 3 responses above, so far none has told you to go do it yourself.

I would question these people you call friends unless they will replace the strings for you (while you wait in the other room). There's a lot of potential energy in those strings, and cams. So unless you know what you're doing or have access to a bomb suit, I would leave the stringing to the professionals.

Post away...

Reactions: ToddTheMan
Thanks guys I really appreciate all the responses. I've been trying to get this done for awhile now so this is really helpful

Do you own a bow press or know anything about cam timing ? Do you know anything about cam lean ? Setting the peep sight, knock or D loop?
Why would a string ordered online be "WAY better" ?

If you know the answers to these questions do it yourself. If not , then go to a pro shop like Bow n Arrow shop and get it done correctly.

Last edited:
Reactions: Bonejour

About us

• SCHoutdoors was created in January of 2011 by a few people who love the outdoors. The main goal is still the same – bring people together who enjoy the outdoors and share their knowledge and experience.