New guy in Chino

vs5466

Nov 14, 2012
Hello everyone, I am new to this site and introducing myself. I am completely new to hunting, a few friends and I are going to take the hunter safety test next month, and once the new year starts get my license :) . Currently I have a Mossberg 500 with 28" barrel and a Ruger mini 14 that can be used for hunting. I have a couple friends who want to give bird hunting a try and I want to work my way up to boars, coyotes and big game. I have a question regarding a rifle for big game, what rifle and calibers would be recommended? I have been looking at Remington 770 models and a Savage Arm (forgot the model) rifle at Big 5. Any suggestions?

I have 3 Remington 700s, getting another soon. I would recommend that in 7mm rem. mag, or .270 win. Both are great calibers. Goodluck and have fun!

All good caliber choices...I like the .308 best out of the four. Both the Remington ad the Savage are good rifles.

Be careful when purchasing firearms from Big 5

Thanks for the advice, I just read an article in the new Field and Stream about 6 cheap good guns so that helped with some research and expanded some options. As far as caliber goes I was thinking of 30-06 or 7mm, so I could take down deer and still have the option of going for bigger game (eventually) all in one rifle. Versus multiple rifles for different game. I have heard good things about the Remington 700, are there any other particular models that are recommended?

I would also look at the Ruger American.

As far as having a cartridge that can be used for larger game - the .308 has more power than needed for all North American game less large carnivores. Basically from moose on down to antelope. My second choice would be the 7mm (out of the cartridges you have mentioned).

Just saying...