New To Hunting!

kannamike

Jun 14, 2013
San Gabriel Valley
Hey Hunters, I'm new to hunting and in desperate need of some help. I've been scouting a few times . I went this weekend 7/28/13 in lake arrowhead area in search of some rabbit. No luck. I saw some deer scat and some quail but no rabbit. With my 22 I have a reasonable grouping at 25 yrds and can hit the target at 50 yrds with iron sights. I have a single shot, shotgun that I just got but haven't been skeet shooting yet. I have a license to hunt, a car, and a backpack. I'm looking for someone to go out hunting with or some info on hunting. It would be much appreciated. Thank You

Welcome to SCH.
So many variables to hunting. Maybe there are rabbits there you were just there at a bad time, maybe there not there and you need to try a new spot. Stick with it and keep scouting but enjoy your time outdoors.

Welcome to the site Kannamike... You're a little too far north from me, but the best thing you can do is get out MORE and MORE. Scout as much as you can... There should be TONS of spots up by you. Don't get frustrated, just keep searching. Over the last 3 years, my hunting area has gone from 2-3 spots to upwards of 15-20 by putting in the time and the legwork myself. Post up some pictures when you start getting results.

The shotgun is going to be an important piece for an "upland" hunter, so you probably want to get out and shoot that thing a bunch to know your capabilities... don't get me wrong, a 22 is fun and has good reach, but the shotgun is a very versitile piece to your aresnal. Enjoy.

Glad to have you on SCH Kannamike. Good advice above...keep getting out there and stick with it. Also become involved on the forum. Your will meet new people and before you know it people will be asking you to hunt with them!