New to it all

bong

Oct 21, 2013
Hey everybody my names Bong, I'm 23 years old currently residing in the OC. I've always been interested in hunting but never had the opportunity, but now I am at a time where I can start to teach myself and get into it. I've always loved nature and have been big on fishing ever since I was little and still try to go a couple times a month when I can and I usually see some animals running around or ducks swimming on lakes and think to myself that would be fun to try and hunt those. I bought a bow (Parker Trailblazer XP) a couple nights ago for cheap on craigslist so I'll be practicing with that at some local archery ranges.

As a newb, I have some newbie questions that probably shouldn't be questions at all lol,

First I had a question about where I could hunt, and I found my answer and so I'll be investing in some BLM maps as well as some National Forest maps. So I was wondering, are there any other places I can hunt other than land managed by the BLM and National Forests? Also, if I decide to hunt/scout a location up in the San Bernardino National Forest, do I just park my car on the side of a road somewhere (with adventure pass if needed) and start hiking or are there specific locations I must park at?

Before I looked into hunting at all I was completely clueless and I thought there were specific locations where everyone hunts something like La Grunta in King of the Hill lol but after doing my research I'm even more excited than ever just to get out there.