New to reloading and I need some advice.

a_gonzalez

Nov 5, 2012
Perris
Hey guys and gals,
So I recently became interested in reloading and I have been looking into it and it is a lot of info to take in. Well first off, I want to start reloading for my 30-06. I was thinking of Sierra Gameking 150gr and either IMR4350, H4350, or Superformance for the powder. Since I want to do this as a hobby just to kill time and tinker with something new I want to keep the cost down, I was going to purchase the Classic Lee Loader, that hand one. But then after I thought I had it all figured out, I realized people can either use a scale to weigh the powder or they can use those dippers for the powder to measure by volume. So my question is, what powder would you guys recommend for 150gr bullet and since I am a newbie, trying to keep cost down and ease of use, would you recommend a scale or those dippers for the powder. One other thing, this load will be to hunt Mule Deer, Coyote, and maybe some wild pigs if I get a chance. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you all. ;D

Fine Firearms has the Lee 50th Anniversary Reloading Press Kit in stock for $139. A great starter kit with everything you need to load accurate rounds!

Attachments

• lee.jpg
    lee.jpg
    47.3 KB · Views: 209
Thanks, NBK I didn't know that kit was so inexpensive. I think I might just go with that one instead since it seems to have everything I need.

I've been able to find plenty of components lately. Just have to search a little harder than a year ago.

Lee has the cheapest presses on the market. A Dillon kit will run you about $500 and that's just for the basics. I use a Lee Turret press and it works just fine. It's expensive to get started but once you have everything the costs go down. Powder will cost you a lot if you order it online, so try to buy local if you can. I just spent $130 for 3lbs because no one local had the powder I use in stock ($45 S&H because of the hazmat fee).