New to SO Cal...(Mission Valley)

Midwest_Hunter

Mar 6, 2013
Hey guys I am new to California as I have just returned from 3 years in Japan. I am looking to get back into hunting and fine tune my knowledge and gain more. I am a bow hunter for all game mostly but I do have rifles and shotguns for other game as well. I have spent most of my time hunting in the Midwest and up in WA state so I do not know anything about this area or where to head off to start scouting with my trail cams. Would like to find a hunting buddy as well, maybe take me as a padawan learner... lol. I do not have much for friends out here so I have a lot of free time to get out in the woods (as soon as I find them at least) there is too much concrete around here for me as I tend to enjoy smaller town living. Any and all advise would be much appreciated and look forward to interacting with all.

Welcome Midwest,

Head east on the I-8 and start exploring the Cleveland National Forest. Lots of hunting opportunites. Get yourself a Cleveland Natl. Forest map from your nearest ranger station. Also, you can get up to the Dept. of Fish and Game office at 3883 Ruffin Road, San Diego. Tons of free literature there for you.

Well Breacher beat me to the (get on 8 and head east) to the CFN.

So grab your bow and head up to Alpine Saturday for the 3d shoot. You will meet some people there.
Also to meet people buy your ticket for the 2nd annual SCH banquet on Sunday from 10:00- 4:00 at El Monte park in Lakeside.

I did not know about anything on Ruffin road but I will head up there.

The closest Ranger station from from I am assuming is in Alpine is that correct?

I am not much of a competition shooter for 3D events. I have never done all that.

Midwest_Hunter said:
I did not know about anything on Ruffin road but I will head up there.

The closest Ranger station from from I am assuming is in Alpine is that correct?

I am not much of a competition shooter for 3D events. I have never done all that.