New upland hunter from San Diego

mazilla

Aug 11, 2013
San Jacinto
Hello all!

Mazilla here, I've been hunting upland game from San Diego thru Imperial County for about 6 years now. I happen to be born on 1 September so upland hunting, the dove opener especially, has become a tradition for me...something I'd like to continue until I'm too old to hunt(I'm 30 now).

Dove, pheasant, and quail are my go-to, although I did finally get my first deer tag this year and will be going out with my friends who have 30+ years experience hunting the region so I'm confident I'll at least get to watch one of them land something nice, haha.

I've also taken up my first hunting dog, the pup in my avatar is an (almost) 4 month old Wirehaired Pointing Griffon out of a kennel in Idaho. One of my hunting partners had the foresight to volunteer for the road trip, essentially securing himself a lifetime spot to hunt over "Jake"...smart move. I'm new to training hunting dogs although I have trained up plenty of companion dogs(mostly pitbulls) over the years. I'd love to get with some experienced bird-dog folks for some pointers/tips/etc(kinda the main reason I joined)...anywho, beer/soda/lunch is on me if anybody wants to get together for some training. ;D

I little background on myself.

I am a small business owner, I have a transportation company(courier) out of Los Angeles County. I'm also a licensed 07FFL although currently I am not doing business as such. I am an E4 in the CA State Military Reserve and serve as a volunteer State Military Police officer officially. I'm an NRA small arms instructor(rife/pistol) and a certified Range Safety Officer.

I look forward to my time here on this forum and getting to know other local hunters, CHEERS!

Hey Mazilla - after that post I feel like we have been friends for years. Nice job! And thank you for serving our country!!!