Optics suggestion

HortoTheSlayer

May 17, 2018
Boise Idaho
I'm new to hunting and picked up some Bushnell 12x50 Pacifica guide binos for scouting but was curious on peoples opinions of 12x50 vs 10x42 binoculars. Just curious of what some seasoned hunters would recommend and why.

Reactions: longbowhunter2
As Lungpopper suggest and I will add this.
Vortex, Leopold, or better.
Or the best you can afford.
Bushnell are ok but not as good.
Depends on your pocket book.
I am old school and prefer to scan with my binos.
I never needed a spotting scope, but
Changed my mind. Good quality scope is a plus with a decent tripod.
This question comes up often. Do a search on these boards, 80% of your time will be scanning the hills.
Read the post in big game hunting.
How do see so many deer.
Welcome and best of luck
Longbow

Reactions: HortoTheSlayer
10’s are better if you are going to hold them. 12’s I would recommend getting a tripod to mount them on.
Just wondering if you did any research before you bought your binoculars?

Well I listen to a few hunting podcasts where they've covered binoculars and to be honest I got them because they were on sale at big 5 for $60. I know it's best to invest in higher quality gear so I trying to save up for that. In the meantime I really need to get my butt scouting. This is my first year hunting and I haven't had the chance do really any scouting..This Friday I plan to buy OnX maps and try to find some areas I can do some scouting because I really don't know where to start. I don't know any hunters, that is why Im really glad I found SCH.

oh and I would eventually like to get a tripod because I heard its a great way to glass.

As Lungpopper suggest and I will add this.
Vortex, Leopold, or better.
Or the best you can afford.
Bushnell are ok but not as good.
Depends on your pocket book.
I am old school and prefer to scan with my binos.
I never needed a spotting scope, but
Changed my mind. Good quality scope is a plus with a decent tripod.