Relocating to Southern California

Oneshot422

Feb 26, 2013
Hello SCH and hope everyone is doing well. Like many people on here I came across this forum after a job opportunity came up and am seriously considering taking it. I've been hunting for a few years after serving in the military and was looking for areas close by to hunt. Hope to be able to meet up with some great people to help learn some of the land. Been hunting peanut, cotton farms and pine timber the last few years and looking over the maps on Google Earth could use any advice on hunting California. I will be in the orange County area but will be willing to travel around 5 hours to get to good hunting if need be so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm not asking you to show me where your honey hole is but just so good areas that are known for having good deer in them. Thanks and look forward to meeting some great new people.

Well - Welcome aboard Oneshot. You have come to the right place to get started on your hunting success. Poke around, ask questions and do homework. Contrary to what most out of state people think, California has some amazing hunting once you get tuned in.

Good luck and I look forward to reading about your hunting endeavors.

Welcome aboard. Thanks for your service and if you are moving to OC and willing to drive 5 hours boy are you in luck!!! There is some amazing hunting good news is there is some great hunting within and hour or two. I would suggest you find out where you want to hunt. I would suggest Cleveland National Forest. It's covers OC, Riverside County and SD. Also there is some BLM land. And lastly, what is intended game?

My bad...more importantly - thank you for serving your country! :-[

Start building your points on the X zones for some of the best oppurtunity CA has to offer.

And thank you for your service!!!