So what caliber will you be using this deeer season?

I will be using my little .260

Am I at a disadvantage? ;D

Using my old mans 30-06 he passed on to me, hoping to get my first D12 buck with it.

How did those little pills shoot?

Powered by SCH and Tapatalk

NBK said:
How did those little pills shoot?

Powered by SCH and Tapatalk

lol I will let you know after the season. but sincerely it should be no problem the 243 is a necked down 308. around these parts I have used my 308 with 125 gr for years.
i expect the same from my 243 except with 80 gr. I have studied the ballistic carefully from Remington & winchester on their respective websites. I like what I see about 243.
I am not a expert but I like what see. we will wait see how it works. I been using 308 for 42 years i have had good luck with it.
but what I like about my savage XP combo with synthetic stocks. is it's light to carry around.& to shoot, there's very little kick back. so more accurate.
for southern mule deer I expect it to be fine. Since my eyesight has a little wear & tear. 3-9 x 50MM worked fine at the gun range yesterday.what i really like it did not break the bank.and it is very easy to shoot, it mechanically sound. just a great little gun all around. it would make great varmint or coyote gun. it works great for small deer.

If one must use a gun for deer 6mm/243 is the choice. The 6mm is in a sweet spot as far as balistics go. You can get 87gr burgers with a g1 bc of .412 and the 105gr are .534. Plug that into your balistic calcs.

Oh and its the only thing I own for deer as far as guns go. So it better work or im screwed

Aeon said:
If one must use a gun for deer 6mm/243 is the choice. The 6mm is in a sweet spot as far as balistics go. You can get 87gr burgers with a g1 bc of .412 and the 105gr are .534. Plug that into your balistic calcs.

Oh and its the only thing I own for deer as far as guns go. So it better work or im screwed
LOL thanks for that info. have good one.

About us