Total Newbie

KayakAngler

Sep 19, 2018
Hi everyone,

I've recently acquired a keen interest in hunting, but I am a total newbie. By that I mean BRAND new - I don't even own a gun yet. I'm currently half-way through the Hunter's Education Course that is required for a license in California (completed the online portion and scheduled the in-class portion for mid-Oct '18). Anyway, I've been doing a ton of research on all aspects of hunting/shooting, and I have found this forum and its members to be extremely helpful. So, a big thank you to everyone! I'll try not to ask too many stupid questions.

After I complete the Hunter's Ed course I plan on purchasing a shotgun since I'm most interested in waterfowl and dove. I plan on doing a lot of range practice before attempting to hunt, and don't necessarily count on being ready for the '18/'19 season given all that I still have to learn.

By the way, I've been an avid salt water kayak fisherman in SD for about 7 years now, and I'd be happy to share any info on that sport should anyone need it.

KA,

Welcome to SCH.....One suggestion would be,.....READ THE REGULAIONS THOURHLY.....As you're aware, each game species has it's own regulations.....So there's about 3 or 4 booklets.....Carry them with you.

ps.....No such thing as a stupid question

Hi everyone,

I've recently acquired a keen interest in hunting, but I am a total newbie. By that I mean BRAND new - I don't even own a gun yet. I'm currently half-way through the Hunter's Education Course that is required for a license in California (completed the online portion and scheduled the in-class portion for mid-Oct '18). Anyway, I've been doing a ton of research on all aspects of hunting/shooting, and I have found this forum and its members to be extremely helpful. So, a big thank you to everyone! I'll try not to ask too many stupid questions.