What boat?

M6hunter

Oct 15, 2013
It will be my first time out on a charter. Does anyone have a recommendation for a half day or 3/4 trip? Trying to target tuna. Also what's the preferred gear? I'm new to the ocean fishing spotlight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Ely,
Check out the fish counts from fishermans landing h&m landing and seaforth landing to decide which boat to go out on. Gear wise since your just starting out I would buy a sabre rod paired with a penn jig master and a minimum of 30lb test with 40lb test being preferred. Once you get more into it I would buy higher quality gear but for now that setup would work fine. Or if you don't want to buy a whole bunch of new gear since this is your first trip out I would rent gear from the landing they will know exactly what you need. Also some of the best advice I can give you is listen to the deckhands. Usually they know what they are doing and how to fish better than anyone else on the boat besides the captain.

I second the renting and do an AM 1/2 day trip to get your feet wet. The am go for YT more so than the pm trip

I'm not a cattle boat guy (private or nothin'), but went out last summer on this boat (Dolphin) and had a really good time with Josh......1/2 day and I threw nothing but swimbaits with my heavier freshwater bass stuff........Caught a lot of fish too.

A few pix to give you an idea of what to expect.......Good luck...... ;D

Attachments

• IMG_8170.JPG
    IMG_8170.JPG
    333.8 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_8171.JPG
    IMG_8171.JPG
    450.6 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_8180.JPG
    IMG_8180.JPG
    228.8 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_8181.JPG
    IMG_8181.JPG
    233.7 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_8183.JPG
    IMG_8183.JPG
    320.6 KB · Views: 36
  • IMG_8191.JPG
    IMG_8191.JPG
    370.7 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_8199.JPG
    IMG_8199.JPG
    374.9 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_8202.JPG
    IMG_8202.JPG
    267.7 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_8204.JPG
    IMG_8204.JPG
    328 KB · Views: 29