Duck recipe?

ktkheatsfan

Sep 25, 2013
Hi all:

I went duck hunting and got some duck! I was wondering if you all could help me out on how to cook it up? This is my first time hunting duck so any help would be great!

Thanks!

KT,

Here's Ducks Unlimited's website.......Lots of recipes on here.......I grind or jerk most my ducks. If they're mallards (or any big duck or goose)......I like to butterfly them. Then put jalapenos & cheese in the middle. Wrap with bacon....Then bbq till bacon is done.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCgQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ducks.org%2Fhunting%2Frecipes&ei=BlCsVJW1IpHUoASH_YDQAw&usg=AFQjCNEiotcFCZqCXOkO9DsmanjufJMNCQ&sig2=AdJrV2IG7YVLYEghlxsysA&bvm=bv.83134100,d.cGU

Attachments

• tof campout & bbq 071.JPG
    tof campout & bbq 071.JPG
    749.5 KB · Views: 12
Yeah that's what I did the jalapeno cheese bacon wrapped. I loved it my brother didn't so I'm trying to find a recipe for him. Thanks for the link I'll be checking it out!

To me, duck tastes like liver. I suspect that's what many refer to as "gamey". Whatever the case, I hate the taste of liver. So when I have meat that tastes like liver, I cook it in something spicy, for a long time. Examples of this are gumbo, chili, taco meat, etc.

This past weekend, a buddy and I shot two limits of ducks, mostly teal and spoonies. I had a bowl of homemade green salsa (made of tomatillos), so I simmered a few breasts in it for a few hours. I like the way it turned out, so I dumped the rest of them in, added the rest of the salsa, added some homemade red chili sauce, and simmered it overnight. It will make good tacos tonight!