Field Hunting Geese

WJones72002

Dec 9, 2012
I am new to California (moved here about a year and half ago) and I was wondering if there was a place a guy could hunt geese in a layout blind style over a field? I don't have a dog unfortunately so I feel retrieving my birds from a field is preferable for me. Also what geese do you see down here mostly specs and snows?

Thanks

Specks are very rare in SoCal. And mostly snows out in the Imperial Valley.........There are some honkers in the IV, but hardly enough to hunt on a regular basis. there are honkers here in SD Co., but it takes permission to hunt them. There are some honkers as well in Riverside Co., but again lots of scouting and probably written permission would be required.

There are some honkers at Lake Henshaw and it's possible to get them with a few decoys and a layout......Very inconsistent though and the handful taken were mostly taken by duck hunters.

San Jacinto does have a few honkers as well late in the season. And I think Tom (manager) has designated some fields for hunting for them.

Wister has almost 99% snows. There are dry fields, but historically it takes very large spreads and multiple guys to compete.

Hope this helps a little.

As ilovesprig mentioned the Wister refuge has field hunting for snow geese. Numbers at the refuge are down but hopefully will improve this year.

The other option is going up to the Sac Valley, refuge hunting is available, guided hunts too. There are 3 million plus geese up there at peek

I'm not a fan of using dogs to field hunt, over water a dog is mandatory

Spec hunting, good calling and 3-10 doz is a good start

Snow goose hunting, this is what I do. I advise everyone to stay away from it, very expensive and the learning curve can be lengthy.

That being said IMHO a good snow goose spread consist of 300-500 full bodies and 1000 plus socks.

Sacramento last year, big spread needed for this area

Attachments

• Sac2014.jpg
    Sac2014.jpg
    275 KB · Views: 98