Is it acceptable / ethical .......

Drewski2324

Sep 26, 2013
Ventura County by way of Idaho
I have a 1944 Remington(Springfield) 1903-A3 in 30-06. At some point in the 1970's had been sporterized. I recently upgraded the stock to a Boyd's laminated stock and bedded it. The problem I face is I cannot get that gun to shoot worth a darn. My average 5 shot group at 100 yds size is around 3" all were between 2"-4.5". (shot 4"+ groups before stock change, old one was split down the middle). Wind for all of my group was between 5-10mph.

How I shoot & my abilities: Bench Rest on bi-pod. 5 shot groups will take me around 5 min or so. Then I let it cool before next group. (Maybe I should slow down to one shot and let cool to more accurately represent a first shot in a hunting scenario?) While I let the 30-06 cool I usually shoot my Rem 700 in .223 and I average around 1 moa in the same conditions. I'm no sniper by any means but I am not a novice either.

The gun: 1944 Remington(Springfield) 1903-A3 in 30-06. 20" pencil thin barrel. Twist rate and barrel brand unknown. Trigger is stock. Scope is Vortex Diamond Back 3-12x. New Boyd's Stock and it is bedded.

Ammo: I have put 6 boxes of different types of ammo through it in the last month alone. From expensive like Federal Premium, Hornady & Nosler Match and cheap stuff like Winchester XP and Remington Core Lokt. I do not currently reload. All ammo was between 165gr-180gr.

My question is: Is it acceptable/ethical to hunt with this rifle? At 200+yds the rifle will be 6"The rifle is very sentimental and my goal is to make it my primary medium game rifle. I would like to use this gun out to 600yds.

Future plans:
New Timney trigger
Milled bottom metal- Already ordered
Maybe have it re-barreled and accurized. I really want to keep the gun close to how it was given to me but I also want a shooter.

Drew,