Let's talk pellet smokers/grills

NBK

Trying to be the man my dog thinks I am.
GOLD SITE SUPPORTER
Mar 8, 2011
San Diego, Ca.
I am taking the pellet smoker/grill dive. Who is using what and why. I have done quite a bit of reading up on the subject but would love to hear what SCH folks are using. There are many units on the market since Mr. Traeger put his grill out there. His patent licenses have expired so it's the Wild West regarding pellet grills.

I'm new to the smoker game, but the pro 34 Traeger the girls got me works great. Easy to use and lots of recipes, he'll the elk burger that was in the food section came out awesome .

I went with the pitboss pro series
Bluetooth compatible you can adjust temps and not miss a play
It’s been great

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

following because I would like one too. Though pan frying elk steaks has been the new hit over the last year.

I have the large Traeger...Great for just about everything...Bought Jacob the camping/portable Traeger for Christmas...He's the bomb on those things.

.053.JPG

Have a traeger. There's others out there that are better/cooler/nicer...etc. But, at the end of the day it flat works for me and that's all I need. It's not a smoker by any means but it grills with a smokey flair. At least that's my .02

Reactions: duck-boy
Have a traeger. There's others out there that are better/cooler/nicer...etc. But, at the end of the day it flat works for me and that's all I need. It's not a smoker by any means but it grills with a smokey flair. At least that's my .02
That’s pretty much how I look at them.
I tell people it’s an oven with smoke.

I run a Z Grill..not as big as the XL traeger but about half the price! I've had it for less then 6months and I love this thing! I've done everything from an entire Turkey in there to pizzas..the wife loves it as well!

20201107_191119.jpg

20210207_181336.jpg

I'm an egg guy, the pellet smoker doesn't get hot enough in my opinion.