Mt. Pinos Turkey Scouting

crramos87

Mar 11, 2013
West Los Angeles
Hello all.

I got a tip from an old timer at last years DFG Turkey Hunting clinic at Tejon Ranch that there were turkeys in the hills/valleys between Mt. Pinos and Lockwood Valley in Los Padres NF. Over the past couple of weeks I've scouted just about every inch of huntable forest in that area and haven't found anything. I was wondering if anybody could corroborate the claim that there are turkeys there? I'm new to turkey hunting and this is my first time scouting/hunting turkeys, so it isn't impossible that I'm just missing something. Being that the season opens this weekend any bit of help would be greatly appreciated!