New Guy looking for Hunting Partner

young gun

Aug 10, 2011
Hello all,

I originally placed an ad on craigslist to help find a hunting partner, and someone replied with the suggestiong that I try this forum. Im pretty new to the hunting world but I was really interested in hoping to find a more experience hunter that would be willing to show me tips, tricks and spend time to educate a young hunter.

I am especially interested in participating in the upcoming Duck and Turkey Seasons. I would like to hunt on public land, as I dont really have money to spend on a guided hunt. I would be willing to split costs for gas, food, or any other type of expenses that might come up.

I have my Hunters Safety Course done, my CA Hunting License, as well as a 12 gauge shotgun. I am located in San Diego, CA.

Thanks in advance.

Hello Young Gun and welcome to the SCH site. We built this site for all us to share in helping everyone get on track with their hunting direction. I have been hunting San Diego and the West for over forty years so touch base with me on anything I can help with. I am leaving next week and taking fifteen guys to Utah for an archery deer hunt but when I come back on the 29th we can hook up and i will get you on the right path to hunting success in San Diego.

Are you a rifle hunter or do you archery hunt also? Stay in touch and circle back to me when I get back, Good Hunting brother.

Mike

Thanks for getting back to me Mike.

I have never used a bow of any kind, and I only have a shotgun, but I have fired different types of rifles before just not hunting. I plan on purchasing either a .22 rifle soon. I was looking at a Savage Mark 2, the bolt action. Its inexpensive and Ive heard good things about Savage rifles.

Go see our guys at Fine Fire Arms in La Mesa and they can point you in the right
direction for what you want in a .22

Are you going to go down to the El Centro for the Dove Opener? If so touch base