New to so cal

Robert2102

Mar 22, 2015
Greetings everyone, I'm new to Southern California. I have turkey hunted only a few times in Central Ca and was looking for a general area around Orange County that I could take my son. Online it looks like San Diego Co is the best location for public land, is there any place closer?

I am too new to the OC hunting wise. I have heard Turkeys sign from Trubico canyon all the way down to the Mexican boarder. The birds are showing up everywhere. I don't think the OC has a very good established setting yet. There are LOTS of Mt Lions in OC CNF I would not be surprised if some turkeys are killed here in the OC in the next couple of years.
Lots of places to hunt in public land here in the south land Even in Los Angeles county they are getting good bird populations. Good luck Keep looking at this board. 99% up here are just amazing to help you get kills.

Robert,

Welcome to SCH........To my knowledge, there are no turkeys in the OC......In fact, about the only wild turkeys in So Cal are in San Diego Co. (few on the border of Riverside Co.).....Going north you have Kern and Ventura Co.'s as the closest......San Bernardino Co. had birds planted in the early 1990's and they just never took hold like San Diego Co.

Well then there is this in the OC in a very remote and hard to get to spot in the CNF
http://tinyurl.com/jw5n63u
And just the other day I heard of some turkeys being around Lake Elsinore

Who knew right!

surfcity said:
Well then there is this in the OC in a very remote and hard to get to spot in the CNF

Who knew right!

Lol! That's funny! if you want to get technical, there's Turkey in Elsinore, Menifee, Wildomar, Perris, and Winchester as well. Just like any other cities that have "farms" or chicken ranches. My hunting buddy and I got rushed by a dude with a revolver for "stopping to look while wearing camo". He thought we were going to shoot, grab, and bail.

8SteelTown said:
surfcity said:

Who knew right!