New to the site

CaliCreole

Oct 26, 2011
Riverside, CA
Hello I just stumbled onto this site so thought i would introduce myself.
My name is Ray and live in Riverside, I have just gotten into hunting recently in the past 2 years. I used to go out quite a bit as a kid with my dad but once California starting getting strict with its laws and reducing the amount of places we could hunt Most of his favorite places are now housing tracks) he became frustrated and hung it up. Now that i have kids of my own i don't want them to miss out on what i can remember as some of the best times i ever had. Just feels like I'm starting from scratch trying to learn as much as i can and be ready for when they are old enough to go, so that i have some knowledge to pass on to them. I Just returned from my first white tail hunt in central Arkansas. The deer were not moving all that great and only say 2 bucks the entire 3 days i was in the woods, one was a forkie the other a little spike. I did see 2 does however and was able to get a shot on one of them but missed. I cant explain how disappointed in myself i was. I have been practicing constantly for over 6 months (i practice year round but specifically from a stand past 6 months) preparing for this shot and i blew it. BUT I did receive an education from a few pretty darn good whitetail hunters both gun hunters and bow hunters and that alone was worth the trip. Here is a list of a few of the things i learned.

1. Shooting at live deer is NOTHING like shooting at a 3D target, its like comparing taking batting practice to coming to the plate in the bottom of the ninth with the game winning run on third and 2 outs, there is just nothing you can do to prepare yourself for that adrenaline rush when it happens for the first time.
2. Deer are smart very smart, I watch a doe sit in the brush line for over an hour waiting for the sun to go down and it be too dark for me to shoot before stepping out in the open.