New to Waterfowl SoCal

benelli12

May 25, 2016
Hey all,

I'm new to the forum here. My name is Troy and I moved to San Diego recently from Idaho. Talk about a culture change! I am new to all things hunting. I've always been into shooting, but for some reason never quite got into hunting. But now I am all in. I started Turkey hunting this season, but no luck. Waterfowl is what I have been most interested in. I can't wait to go on my first waterfowl hunt. If only the season wasn't so far away! Anyways, I am an avid planner and am wondering what all I need to start Waterfowl hunting. I have been reading all the forums but I have some additional questions:

1. What additional license/tags will I need. I have a hunting license with an upland tag currently.

2. I see that most people on this site sign up for raffles for blinds. When do I need to start submitting for those lottery bids?

3. I saw that a member here put on a waterfowl clinic last year. Any chance of any other clinics this year?

Thanks guys/gals!

Tony,

Welcome to SCH.....Just your handle makes me like you (I love Benelli's)...... 8)

Question 1.....You will need a California State Validation duck stamp (not really a stamp anymore) and a federal duck stamp to hunt waterfowl.

Question 2.....We put in for the lotteries mostly for Wister W.A. and San Jacinto W.A.....You normally submit those near the end of September.....Our duck opener is Oct. 22nd.....You will get notification approximately 10 days before the hunt date you applied for.

Question 3.....I had the clinic at my home last year.....If there's enough interest, I will do it again in August.

Lots to learn and know to be able to hunt waterfowl here in SoCal (& California in general).....Ask lots of questions.....Don't want you to find out the hard way about the many rules we have....ESPECIALLY AT OUR WILDLIFE AREAS!...... ;)

ps......Read our pinned waterfowl threads......Wealth of knowledge in there...... 8)