Recommendations for Archery

Koi00

Jul 23, 2016
Hi,
I have been hunting for several years with a rifle and have recently thought of doing archery hunting. I would like to get some recommendations for a compound bow to start archery hunting. I would greatly appreciate any help.

If you live in North County of San Diego Co...Try Willow Creek Archery...Ask for Brett.

ps...Try to buy the best you can afford...The bow portion is just the start to what it will cost you

If you buy a used bow...Make sure you have it checked out by someone who knows what to look for...There's some good deals out there on quality stuff.

Thanks everyone, but I live up north in riverside county. What would be some things that are a must have for archery to get started?

all three shops have indoor ranges, go look but don't buy ,try out diffrnt bows an get training while you are there.
the first thing you need to by is your shooting form, get instructions how to shoot a bow properly.

Highly suggest going to a pro shop to get you set up right the first time
this so you know what draw length and all that stuff... i am lucky and got a loner old onieda from my uncle to play with but we are literally the same size so it fits perfect

Thanks everyone, but I live up north in riverside county. What would be some things that are a must have for archery to get started?
1. Money. I'd say $800 for a decent entry level setup. $1000-1200+ if you can swing it.

2. Bow. Get measured and try different bows to see how they feel. Used bows can be sketchy because you don't know what people have done to them, or if they'll fit you well. New bows are best but used bows have terrible resale so you can get a good deal on one.

3. Release. Get a good one.

4. Accessories. Rests, stabilizers, sights, etc. You can go crazy with this. Work within your budget and ask questions on here and to shop guys.