This NOT a goose!

Shooting an extra hen pintail confusing it with lets say a hen mallard or gadwall I can understand as a mistake.

Shooting a swan thinking it was a snow goose is like shooting an elk and confusing it with a black tail deer, come on man

A game warden is not going to give you any slack, he or she will tell you that "they should have known better" when writing you the ticket!

I don't think this is brutal. I'm 16 and I've been hunting for about 4 years now. At first it was hard to identify ducks because there are many different kinds. But I knew about game wardens and I didn't want to get a ticket or have my dad get a ticket for me shooting an illegal water bird. For me I went duck hunting with my dad and brother before I even had a license. Of course I didn't hunt but I was able to learn what are ducks and what aren't.

Bottom line is you should know what is legal to shoot and what is illegal to shoot before you go hunting.

This is a great thread. Better to have this discussion in a harmless environment than in front of a warden. I imagine there may be more than one newbie reading this thread who will put in extra effort at bird ID before and during his or her next hunt. Thanks to all for taking the time.

I got a call from a friend a few years ago that I had introduced to waterfowl hunting.

I took him on a couple of trips down by Wister. we shot mostly Teal with a few bigger ducks mixed in.

he went on a solo trip and told me about the mallards he shot, and pintails... "Shovelers and a few Ruddy ducks"

he went with me to Mendota one time where he proceeded to fire off a round as soon as we exited the truck "to see if his gun was empty"...

Needless to say I went ape shit and refused to hunt with/near him. It ruined my day. I tried to teach/explain things to him constantly, but he grew up in Tennessee and his family all hunted ducks so he already knew it all...