Trail cam question

Prime

Nov 21, 2012
North County
Hey guys,

This is my first time using trail cams...I know I know... Anyway, I have a question about the cameras. I put them up on May 14th, and by May 22nd, one of them had taken over 6000 images and the batteries were dead. I went to swap out the SD cards yesterday when I found that out. The other one lasted until mid July with 6800 pics on the SD card, not as bad. Both cameras had pictures of deer and other critters, but most of the images were of nothing but the grass and trees. I'm sure it's an error on my behalf when I set it up, or maybe it's from the grass and trees that are in front of it. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Max

yup, I feel you bro. I've had the same results before. I've made a few adjustments as in making sure I don't place it in front of brush that will move with a breeze or I cut some of the thin brush that I think will move. I also now change out the batteries with new ones every time I check on them to make sure they are new and charged up. Some of the higher end cams have adjustments available.

Max,

Lower end cameras just do this.....Any movement makes them go off.....Your best bet is to try and put your cameras in areas that have little wind or where brush doesn't move unless it's blowing hard.....Batteries in my cameras last close to a year (AA's).....The cameras will also tell your how much charge you have left.....I get about 6-700 pix per week, with maybe about 5 % blank.....If the animals are near the camera (sides) that will make it go off too.....You do lose a few pix, with a less sensitive setting, if they're moving fast.

Check them more often.....It's fun.....:grinning:

ps.....Damn date is wrong again on bottom....Operator error this time....lol

.170.JPG 832.JPG

Last edited: