looking for a Brittany Spaniel

kylemg0009

Jan 20, 2015
Costa Mesa, CA
Hello all,
I have recently been very interested in purchasing a brittany spaniel for upland bird hunting. I'd like to get one soon so I can start training him/her for next season. does anyone know any reputable breeders, specifically in the southern California area? If you have any pros/cons for brittany's, feel free to share also!

great dogs. Ive been training hunting dogs of different kinds for 20 years. goldens, chocolate labs, spaniels and short haired pointers (GSP's) I love brittanys negitives, long hair. catches everything. pros.. they are beautiful dogs that will do most everything you ask. Plus they are a little smaller then most upland dogs with LOTS of energy. But im partial to GSP's

Id imagine if you got a 3-6 month old pup now it may not be ready for next season. you could take it out and what not but training usually really kicks in about 18 months or so. If i can ill help in any training or any help you may need.

Going to train it your self or have a trainer? IF you can send it to a tainer or put in the daily work it may be ready.

sorry not much help.

Thanks GSPman!
Yeah ive always wanted to german shorthaired but I dont have the resources for one right now, I hunted with quite a few of them during this year's quail season and I can't imagine having one in a town house. And thats why i was looking at brittany's they are smaller and can be satisfied with one or two nice long walks or visits to the dog park daily. I also got a change to hunt with two lewellin setters and i fell in love with those dogs too, so i'm stuck in between them both.

In regards to training, I discussed a lot with the veterans i was hunting with all quail season and I beleive I would like to train them myself just because I want to build a strong relationship with my dog. Any help with training would be greatly appreciated, but I want to be very involved so I can learn about my dog inside and out.