Newbie here ready to learn

C

Calreef18

Hi everyone, totally new to hunting here (live in D16) and hoping to learn as much as I can from the forum and online and then getting out in the field. Just did my hunting and archery safety Ed courses and got my license. Planning to hunt archery/rifle next year, but for now scout and get my accuracy where I want it in the off-season.

Read the regs, several times.
OnX
Glass
Go solo for a while, prepare and plan.
Be self-reliant
Be careful, smart and patient.
Focus on the process not on the results
Study the local species you are targetting.

At least that is what I work on as a new hunter and I am finding game but man is really tuff to get close with a bow.
Good luck.

Hi everyone, totally new to hunting here (live in D16) and hoping to learn as much as I can from the forum and online and then getting out in the field. Just did my hunting and archery safety Ed courses and got my license. Planning to hunt archery/rifle next year, but for now scout and get my accuracy where I want it in the off-season.
The NWTF meetings are a good place to meet new hunters like minded people with lots of information.
WELCOME

Read, read read until you can't stand it.
Let it digest than put it into practice.
Hook up with more experience Hunter.
Go meet people bow range, gun shop, turkey federation meet and greets.
Study tracks, scat, great importance on safety. Start with small game and upland game. Work your way up. Don't get frustrated. It will take time just like any other skill. Work hard at it. And it will happen.

Go and spend time where you want to hunt. Learn who is out there and where they go. It is the time you put into the field that gets you the critter.

Calreef18 , you came to right place , we all share the passion here ! If your all Licensed up , Get out there this season . As we all say here ( Tis the season ) .