Thanks for having me

TrapLine

Feb 21, 2019
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Hi All,

Thanks for the add. Newbie here looking to learn some of the tricks of the trade and hopefully meet some new people in the field along the way. I am currently a big game surf fisherman and forums played a huge part in learning that skill and meeting new people along the way as well as some old salts that took me under their wing. Hopefully moving into hunting will provide the same experience. Similar to fishing where time on the sand teaches you the most I am assuming time in the field will translate to hunting.

I live in Santa Margarita in Orange County where the Saddle Back Mountains in Cleveland National Forrest is literally in my backyard but willing to travel also to explore. I have already e-scouted some spots and going to head out to walk a few in person over the weekend. I have always been an equal opportunity fisherman and plan to bring the same philosophy into my hunting, basically anything the laws and regs say can be legally hunted I am hunting, big, small, game, non game. Reliving the joys of the regs now. They always seem so overwhelming at first until you get them down and they become second nature.

Look forward to learning as much as I can from you seasoned guys on the forum a look forward to posting up some reports.

If anyone wants to take a green horn out to the field let me know, or any other newbies want to figure it out together I am down also, I cant finish my follow up class until March 2nd, when the next class will be near me, and have an appointment scheduled for my trapping license test scheduled for March 20th so until then it is scouting, learning, and gearing up. Will be asking for some recommendations and feedback on the gear, is going to be a complete re-tool from firearms and bows to boots.

PS, I will be contributing to your saltwater fishing category also.

Stay Safe out there,
JayRay

Hi Ray welcome
Your at good start.