What in the heck is this?????

NBK

Trying to be the man my dog thinks I am.
GOLD SITE SUPPORTER
Mar 8, 2011
San Diego, Ca.
I am not a spider expert. This Bad Johnson was in my dogs kennel (Dieter). Dieter had it in his mouth and spit it out when I went out to see what all of the commotion was about.

This dude was the size of a silver dollar. I let it go out in the back part of the property. What say you?

Attachments

• Spider.jpg
    Spider.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 81
  • Spider1.jpg
    Spider1.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 74
Saw a spider like that not to long ago. Put a stick down towards it and it jumped and attacked the stick with its fangs. That spider didn't live much longer after that. End of story.

Lungpopper said:
Saw a spider like that not to long ago. Put a stick down towards it and it jumped and attacked the stick with its fangs. That spider didn't live much longer after that. End of story.

Did you shoot it with your .338 Win Mag?

NBK said:
Lungpopper said:

Did you shoot it with your .338 Win Mag?
Haha
That's a tarantula, isn't it? A friend of mine found one in his garage years ago. Had it in a small box, with the top open, for a few days before letting it go. Afterward he learned that they can jump pretty well. That freaked him out. Too funny.

I thought it was a tarantula but it had no hair. My dog was going to eat it!

We use to get one's like that in Harbison Canyon but they were brown. Those were Sun spiders. May be something like that.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

That's a California Trapdoor Spider. Fairly rare. The males come out in the first rain to search for mates.
http://nathistoc.bio.uci.edu/spiders/Bothriocyrtum%20californicum.htm
http://www.insectidentification.org/insect-description.asp?identification=California-Trapdoor-Spider

msteiger said:
That's a California Trapdoor Spider. Fairly rare. The males come out in the first rain to search for mates.
http://nathistoc.bio.uci.edu/spiders/Bothriocyrtum%20californicum.htm